J. C. Kuehn Miller

Read. Write. Repeat. Aspire to be a Janitor.

Wine and “Love”

Never have I looked
Looked into eyes like yours.

Your smile reminds me
Of that joy
In finding a sand dollar
On the shore
Revealed in the receding waves.

I know few words
To describe your nose.

Subtle.
Cute.
Poignant.

The best way to describe
Your nose
Is the silence
Between my lips
And it.

I wanted to show you
The divine within the crystals
Of a snowflake,
Let you experience love
Through the scratched lenses
Of a storybook character.

Instead,
We found loss in a wine glass,
Sorrow in meaningless words,
And eternity in a withered weed.

Poetry lost its
Mysticism,
Its splendor
Its abundance
In our toast to each other.

I don’t need these words
When I’m with you.

All I can see
Is your face.
All I can love
Is a shadow
of my emerging sexuality.

One comment on “Wine and “Love”

  1. redgladiola
    January 24, 2015

    Great work. I especially like “the silence between my lips.” =)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2015 by in Poetry and tagged , .
Public Orthodoxy

Bridging the Ecclesial, the Academic, and the Political

No Inklings

"Surely I am more stupid than any man, And I do not have the understanding of man. Neither have I learned wisdom. But, the knowledge of the Holy One--that I know." Proverbs 30:2-3

Poems and Petals

Because poetry. And petals.

Patching Cracks

Manhood, Marriage, and Family From a Biblical Perspective

aclaytonthomas

A modest attempt at thinking with assertive criticism.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Vonj Productions

Bringing you love through spirit!

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

michealleenelson

A topnotch WordPress.com site

TextsInContext

Faith Seeking Understanding

The Neighborhood

telling the story from every vantage point

Digital Dimensions

Blog about anything related to Blogging. Post any job related to Blogging / Digital Marketing for free.

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

